

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

To confer the Title of

HONORARY ALDERMAN

posthumously on

Michael Heseltine

and on

Shelagh Marshall OBE
Bill Hoult
Chris Metcalfe
Margaret-Ann de Courcey-Bayley
John Fort BEM
John Savage
Bernard Bateman MBE

at

County Hall, Northallerton 12.30pm on Wednesday, 8 November, 2017



NORTH YORKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

You are hereby summoned to attend an Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council to be held at County Hall, Northallerton, on Wednesday 8 November, 2017.

At 12.30 pm, or as soon as practicable thereafter, the Chairman of the County Council will adjourn the Quarterly Meeting of the County Council. Thereupon the Honorary Aldermen elect will take seats in front of the Chairman's dais.

BUSINESS OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

1. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Carl Les to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred posthumously upon:-

Michael Heseltine

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1977 - 2016."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor Angus Thompson.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote.

2. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Gill Quinn to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon:-

Shelagh Marshall OBE

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1989 - 2017."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor Patrick Mulligan.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote. On the approval of the motion the Honorary Alderman's Badge of Office and Illuminated Address will be presented by the Chairman of the County Council.

Response by Shelagh Marshall OBE.

3. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Geoff Webber to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon:-

Bill Hoult

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1993 - 2017."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor Philip Broadbank.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote. On the approval of the motion the Honorary Alderman's Badge of Office and Illuminated Address will be presented by the Chairman of the County Council.

Response by Bill Hoult.

4. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Gareth Dadd to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon:-

Chris Metcalfe

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1993 - 2017."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor Andrew Lee.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote. On the approval of the motion the Honorary Alderman's Badge of Office and Illuminated Address will be presented by the Chairman of the County Council.

Response by Chris Metcalfe.

5. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Geoff Webber to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon:-

Margaret-Ann de Courcey-Bayley

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1997 - 2017."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor Philip Broadbank.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote. On the approval of the motion the Honorary Alderman's Badge of Office and Illuminated Address will be presented by the Chairman of the County Council.

Response by Margaret-Ann de Courcey-Bayley.

6. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Peter Sowray to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon:-

John Fort BEM

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1997 - 2017."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor Stanley Lumley.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote. On the approval of the motion the Honorary Alderman's Badge of Office and Illuminated Address will be presented by the Chairman of the County Council.

Response by John Fort BEM.

7. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Geoff Webber to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon:-

John Savage

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1997 - 2017."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor John Blackie.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote. On the approval of the motion the Honorary Alderman's Badge of Office and Illuminated Address will be subsequently forwarded to John Savage who is unable to be present.

8. In pursuance of a recommendation of the Planning and Regulatory Functions Committee, the Chairman of the County Council will call upon County Councillor Stuart Martin MBE to move:-

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon:-

Bernard Bateman MBE

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1997 - 2017."

The motion will be seconded by County Councillor Mike Chambers MBE.

The Chairman will ask the Council to vote. On the approval of the motion the Honorary Alderman's Badge of Office and Illuminated Address will be presented by the Chairman of the County Council.

Response by Bernard Bateman MBE.

9. The Chairman of the County Council will then declare the Special Meeting of the Council closed. All present will be asked to stand as the Chairman's procession comprising the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Shelagh Marshall OBE, Bill Hoult, Chris Metcalfe, Margaret-Ann de Courcey-Bayley, John Fort BEM and Bernard Bateman MBE leave the Chamber.

RICHARD FLINTON Chief Executive Officer BARRY KHAN
Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services)

County Hall NORTHALLERTON

31 October 2017